Broker Check
Tara Olson

Tara Olson

Associate Registered Representative

Recall how challenging it was to choose a profession at the age of 18?  Business – as vague as it is - seemed to be the right path.  My first “real job” was in the accounting department of a regional food broker.  Within six months I moved into marketing followed by account management/business development.  After years in outside sales –Little Debbie’s, residential hardware, plastic fabricated parts and blow molded bottles, a life change sparked a career change. 

In 2017, I entered the world of wealth management as an assistant in a Wisconsin firm.  I was quickly drawn in by the interpersonal relationship with clients, the structure, detail and analysis.  I wish I had discovered this profession sooner! 

The impact of a good financial plan on the life of an individual and/or family is profound.  Selfishly, seeing clients live intentionally is rewarding.  It wasn’t long before I decided to pursue the Series 7 and Series 66 licenses in order to broaden my knowledge and increase the depth of involvement with the advisors and clients.  Today I work closely with the DGN financial advisors behind the scenes in all aspects of financial planning. 


What's your favorite holiday?

I am a child of the summer.  I index to the sun, longing for the heat of summer year round.  (Which is why I moved to Texas!)  My favorite holiday is in the middle of summer – The 4th of July/Independence Day.  I remember driving to watch the fireworks with my family, riding in the bed of the pickup truck.  My dad would treat us to licorice ropes and cotton candy.  We would play Simon Says and Red Light, Green Light when the sparklers ran out before the fireworks began.  A Texas 4th of July is like none other.  There is no need to attend a firework production.  We can enjoy it from our back yard for HOURS into the night.

What's the most daring thing you've ever done?

My first instinct is to say sky diving but I think getting my motorcycle license was really the most daring.  Going through the course, passing the road test and now riding on my own – it’s not a one and done adventure.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved sky diving and WILL do it again!


If you could go back in time, what year would you travel to?

I love the 1940’s.  I grew up watching the black and white movies – played decades later - of Fred Astaire, Ginger Rogers and Danny Kaye.  I would love to travel back in time to attend a live performance at a supper club, outfitted in a cocktail dress and a fabulous hat to experience a big band and talented performers like they were.


What was your first job?

My very first job at the age of 10 was as a paper carrier.  I started with a Waukesha Freeman paper route.  Which grew into a business of 5 routes consisting of both the Waukesha Freeman and the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.  Between me and my older brother, I think we covered most of the village of Pewaukee.  I would deliver the papers on my bike during the week.  But, the Sunday paper was SO thick and the weekend subscribers were triple the volume.  On Sundays my dad, brother and I would fill the bed of the truck with papers.  Dad would move slowly ahead of us so we could restock our carrier bags.  That job was uniquely positioned to teach me the value of customer service.  But, my favorite part were the fresh donuts from the bakery when we were done.



  • University of Wisconsin, Associates Degree in General Studies
  • Series 7 and Series 66